How to Delete Your PlayStation Account (2021)

How to Delete Your PlayStation Account Easily

PlayStation accounts are a very convenient way of having a personalized experience on your console and have all of your user data in one place across the entire network. But at the end of the day, not everyone likes to leave trails of bread crumbs behind, and for any reason that might be there – many gamers want to delete their PlayStation account before moving onto another one, or a different system altogether.

There are two types of PlayStation accounts, one of them is a local console account that allows players to have different save files and IDs without the effort of handling an online profile.

While the other one is the PlayStation Network account which is connected to everything PlayStation-related across the entire ecosystem of the brand, such as PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, and more. This means all of your purchases, achievements, friends, and chats are saved on this networked account!

So, if you want to delete your PlayStation local account or delete your PlayStation Network account – we’ve got you covered. Here’s an easy guide on how you delete your PlayStation account!

How to Delete Your PlayStation Network Account

So, you want to delete your PlayStation Network account. The method is pretty easy, but the steps can take a little bit of time since a good chunk of it is on Sony support’s end to complete the process.

This will delete all the games you own, all achievements you’ve unlocked, and erase pretty much everything else you had too such as save files and cloud save files on PlayStation Plus. This includes PSN Wallet and possible subscriptions too as they aren’t refundable.

Lastly, you won’t be able to create a new Online ID with the same name again – only names that aren’t used yet and haven’t been deleted. If you still want to do it, then here’s the method for it:

1. Gather your PlayStation Network information

Note down your sign-in ID which includes the email address. And don’t forget to note down your online ID as well – which is the display name that you use on PlayStation Network and inside multiplayer video games.

2. Contact Sony’s PlayStation Network Support

You cannot silently delete your PlayStation Network account. You will have to gather your information as with step 1, and then contact Sony’s official support by clicking ‘here.

Once you contact them using the ‘Live Chat’ option, you will need to tell them that you want to delete your account and they will assist you with the rest of the process – which is mostly on their side.

Your account will be deleted based on the default speed of Sony’s customer support, which is usually not too late if you contact within working days. Choose the ‘Account and Security’ option inside and their representative will tell you the rest. Congratulations – your PlayStation Network account is now deleted.

How to Delete Your PlayStation Account

So, you want to delete your local PlayStation account? The method is pretty easy. We’ll use a PlayStation 4 for the guide since it’s the most commonly used Sony game console at the time – but the method is mainly similar for the others too. Simply follow these steps:

1. Go to the Settings

How to Delete Your PlayStation Account

As straightforward as it sounds, head over to the Settings part of the console’s user interface.

2. Scroll down to Login Settings and open it

How to Delete Your PlayStation Account

Again, very simple, just scroll down and open the ‘Login Settings’ section of the settings menu.

3. Scroll down to User Management and open it

How to Delete Your PlayStation Account

Scroll to the ‘User Management’ part of Login Settings and open it, which is where you have to go for the account deletion.

4. Select Delete User

How to Delete Your PlayStation Account

Once you open the ‘Delete User’ page, you can select what local account you want to delete from a list of users. Simply select one and then delete the profile at the confirmation.

Congratulations, you’ve successfully deleted your PlayStation account. If it was a local account, it’s gone forever. And if it was an entry of a PlayStation Network account, you might want to delete your PSN account too if you did not just want to get it out of the console.

How to Delete Your PlayStation Account

And that’s everything on how to delete your PlayStation account – both online and local variations. Don’t forget to ask us anything that you have on your mind, and make sure to check out some of the other helpful guides on our website too!

Total
0
Shares

Leave a Reply

Related Posts